Question Which forum should I post this question in?

Hello forum,

I'm an utter newb to databasing and I've been tasked with a project outside my scope. I'm hoping the denizens here can help me get started? I don't know where to ask about this, so if someone could tell me the right board to post it in, I'd really appreciate it.

Basically, I am to build a program for calculating averages from some data. Originally the data was stored in a spreadsheet and read into the application. No issues there. I chose C#, since it's the language I am currently most familiar with.

However, I was recently told to store the data in a database instead. The database should be stored in as an independent file in the application that the program accesses and writes to. I was specifically told not to use a database server. It should be able to 'travel' with the application.

It sounds simple, but I don't know how to begin. I was told to look into SQLite, but others have told me it's garbage. I need advice on what to do. So where should I post this question?

SQLLite is fine for the purposes its designed for.
    it isn't if you want to build multi hundred users concurrent, exterprise db design, critical applications.
    it works fine as a small level db where there are not too many users, where the db isnt' storing critical data, where the usage is moderate.

for what you are desigining I'd agree yuou don't really need a database, you could happily read and write data from a flat file.

if the data sets are all discrete and not interelatred (and you don't have to compare data from different datasets) then the flat file approach may make more sense

if you need to compare accross datasets then a db becomes a 'smarter' approach in my mind.