Unanswered: How to handle high-volume inserts?

I'm relatively new to MSSQL, and I'm trying to improve the DB write performance.

I have some legacy Java code that's generating about 1500 records every second. These 1400 records are generated by multiple Java threads. Right now, my approach is to create an SQL statement in each thread, to write each record into the MSSQL DB; this is proving to be terribly slow.

What are my options specific to MSSQL and Java? How do I insert so many records into the DB without seriously impacting performance?

Thanks in advance.

can you cache them out and bulk insert into the table ? not sure if you have triggers firing though for each insert.

Provided Answers: 10
    If you're on SQL Server 2008 you can take advantage of table variable parameters and only execute a single statement (create a table object in memory and pass it as a parameter).

If you're on 2005 or less; I assume you're not opening and closing a connection for each transaction?
    George
    Home | Blog

Quote Originally Posted by gvee
    If you're on SQL Server 2008 you can take advantage of table variable parameters and only execute a single statement (create a table object in memory and pass it as a parameter).
    I'm on SQL Server 2005.

Quote Originally Posted by gvee
    If you're on 2005 or less; I assume you're not opening and closing a connection for each transaction?
    I'm not; the connection remains open for the lifetime of the program.
    Last edited by kunalashar; 06-18-09 at 02:24.

I understand that batch inserts could be faster; it's going to be a challenge to figure out the right "delay" while I cache records before insertion. My client applications need *near" real time read access to the data that's being inserted (the data is actually GPS data - latitude and longitude, amongst 50 fields - of 1500 vehicles worldwide, that are being tracked in real time).