Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557

    Unanswered: Problem with db2pd

    Morning

    Trying to run db2pd and getting mixed results. Running this command against two tables one at a time. Both are regular tables. Both have indexes. One was updated recently i.e. earlier this week, second couple of month back.

    have forced tb scan and forced and index access on both of them. however first command returns data, second command returns an empty result. ran it using my id and an instance id as well.

    Why is it giving an empty result on another table?

    db2pd -db $dbname -tcbstats index tbspaceid=30 tableid=7

    db2pd -db $dbname -tcbstats index tbspaceid=25 tableid=496

    Thank you.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Did you double check the table space id and table id are valid ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    There have been a lot APAR's pertaining to db2pd in the DB2 fixpacks, so I would make sure you have the latest release.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by kiranchinta
    Did you double check the table space id and table id are valid ?
    Yes. Many times.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    You should actiavte your database then run db2pd

    db2 activate db $dbname
    ---------------
    Eric Xu (许 昌)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Did you miss where I said it works for one table and not the other? Db is already active.

    Problem is not really with db2pd as I figured it out. Problem is someone set up so coordinating node is on another server and I have missed it. Table that I get nothing back is not on node 0, so db2pd can't report back on what is happening on the other server as it is reading this data from server memory.

    When I connect to the other server that holds other partition's I get results back.

    First time saw this kind of set up.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •