Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Very stupid problem - how to link to sql server query?

Hi. I'm new to SQL server, and am using an Access front end. I've migrated all the database, and have just started making queries using SQL server management studio.

The queries execute fine, and i have them saved as .sql files.

question is how do I share these so I can find them in the ODBC connection through the Access front end??

I can't see them in stored procedures, and can see a way to add them.

ANy help is appreciated (or if I got the wrong idea of how this works).

You can make linked tables and views in Access so that Access can query them as if they weren't even in the SQL Server back end. In SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS), create a view such as the following:

create view my_view as select column1, column2 from MigratedTable
    where column1 like '%somethingConvolutedToJustifyView%'.

You can use the linked table manager to connect to your tables/views.

So i can't run (from Access) just a basic SQL query stored on the SQL server?

There's no way that I know of. If so, it would sure make my DBA duties easier with customers who have Access on their PCs. Then again, I haven't found many cases where you need an SQL Server back-end without the need for pre-defining and securing queries with views (and stored procedures).

OK, so instead of having loads of queries like I do in Acces, I should just use loads of Views (for read-only stuff)?? Is that the proper way of doing things?

What do you suggest using for editing? I was thinking of jsut opening the record up from Access but is it better if I do it through some SQL?

I think the proper way of doing things is ignoring Access altogether and having SQL/MySQL/Oracle as a back end for a ASP, PHP, or ASP .net front end, but that's probably more than you've bargained for.