Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: New harddrive, new system cannot open access database

    Hi All
    I have had to change my harddrive and have copied my access database over, I am using the the same version of access (2003) and also created the datebase, when I try to open the db I do not have the necessary permissions, the scurity tab for the file indicates that I have full control etc,
    for admin, and myself. Is this due to a new identiy beeing created? and is there a way me accessing the db.
    PS xp is fully updated

    Hope you can help

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    119
    Did you used to use a shortcut to open the database?
    Regards
    JD

    Software-Matters

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7
    No I tried opening the file directly from my documents and through Access, I have also put back my old drive and get the same problem.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    258
    Try the following MS KB article:
    How to take ownership of a file or a folder in Windows XP

    Regards,

    Ax

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Did the database have a workgroup file (MDW) that was lost during the update?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7
    I have tried taking ownership of the file in normal and safe mode, logging in as administrator, and still get the same error "You do not have the necessary permissions to use the boject. Have your system administrator or the person who created this object establish the appropriate perrmissions for you "

    I have also tried putting my old harddrive back on and have the same problem.

    Before i changed the drives I checked my backup and it worked ok. I have also tried a backup which was 3 months old with ths same result on my new drive.

    My pc was not on a workgroup but i will put my old drive back on and check

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7
    Many Thanks softwarematters on my old hard drive it was usually opened with a shortcut from my desktop, i thought that this was then a direct shortcut to my access file, but not so, when i tried opening the file on my old drive directly i got the same error message as my new drive, copying the shortcut solved my problem--- many thanks--

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    You may want to look at the "Properties" of your desktop shortcut! I'm guessing the reason it worked after you copied the shortcut is because the mdw file is located elsewhere other than on the hd you replaced.

    If this is the case, you should take note of the location/name of the mdw file in the properties of your shortcut.

    The shortcut would've had something like this in it...

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE" "C:\Databases\MymdbFile.mdb" /WRKGRP "C:\Databases\MySecurityMDWFile.mdw"

    mdw files when created (ie. MSAccess security is implemented) tend to get buried in the Office folder somewhere. I will usually copy the mdw file to the same location as the mdb file (so it doesn't get lost when moving data/swapping hd's) and modify my shortcut to point to the new location. I'm guessing yours is located somewhere on a different drive and not on the drive you replaced (otherwise you'll have issues with permissions when opening the mdb even if you do use the shortcut - ie. you'll need to find the mdw file on your old drive.)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 06-24-09 at 14:58.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7
    Yes you are right, I have checked the shortcut properties, and now make sure that my backup contains the shortcut and MDW file.
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •