Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: restore database with logs

    i'm trying to restore an offline backup and i have the log files from the period since the backup was taken. when i point the restore wizard to the place where i have the logs saved, it gives me an error saying it can't extract the logfiles.

    is there a specific structure the logs should have? right now i just have them saved in a directory called db2logs.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Sounds like your backup image contains logs as well. If that is the case, make sure that that directory is empty as it will extract those logs there by itself.

    In the future it would be helpful if you have identified your OS, dblevel, what command you ran exactly and an exact error message.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Offline backups cannot contain logs. Only online backups can.

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    this backup is an offline backup, so no logs are really needed.
    if i restore it, will i be able to roll through the logs that i have archived?

    it's a windows 2003 server, db2 8.1 fp 16. i used the restore wizard to do this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner
    Offline backups cannot contain logs. Only online backups can.

    Andy
    Right, I need to read and not speed read. Thank you.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    If the RESTORE command does NOT contain the clause "WITHOUT ROLLING FORWARD", then you should be able to rollforward through the logs. I have never tried this, but it looks like it should work.

    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    If you are using wizard, what options are you selecting (have never used wizard before) What is the exact error message
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    sorry, i don't have the error. i tried it without restoring the logs, and then just rolled forward through them and it worked fine. thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •