Unanswered: Need help DB2 password encryption

Hi guys,

I am a newbie to DB2.
    My current project need some sort of encryption on user login password in user table to prevent from anybody viewing it even for the DB2 administrator.
    Is there a password "type" in DB2 so that the persist password can be encrypted automatically?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Provided Answers: 5
    Is this for users to connect to the database? Also what DB2 version and OS?

Andy

Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner
    Is this for users to connect to the database? Also what DB2 version and OS?

Andy

Thanks for the quick response, andy.
    There will be a form for user registration. After user registration, the user input password will be encrypted and stored into the DB2 table.
    I am using DB2 9.5 and winXP as a test environment.
    On Production server,using DB2 9.X and AIX.

So, you are trying to secure/encrypt data once it is in the table?
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

Create new table with that column defined for nit data

create new view that has that column defined with DECRYPT_CHAR(decrypt_phraze)

Create instead of triggers. 1 for insert and 1 for update.

revoke all access from syscat.views to make sure no one finds your decrypt_phraze
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

Quote Originally Posted by Cougar8000
    Create new table with that column defined for nit data

create new view that has that column defined with DECRYPT_CHAR(decrypt_phraze)

Create instead of triggers. 1 for insert and 1 for update.

revoke all access from syscat.views to make sure no one finds your decrypt_phraze

What is nit data? Please advise
    Sorry, would you mind to elaborate it, I am a newbie to DB2.
    Thanks again
    Last edited by ghostlord; 06-24-09 at 15:17.

Provided Answers: 5