Newbie question - architecture for exam data

Greetings, dBforums. I have what is probably a stupid question, but I'm new at this, so please accept the pre-emptive apologies of an application developer who's been forced into dB architecture design largely against his will. (Though, it's quite interesting thus far!)

I'm developing a SQL Server 2005 dB structure designed to hold data for exams served online through ASP.NET pages. I'm also designing the pages, so I have total control over what the dBs look like. I currently have a database of student info tables, keyed to a "StudentID" identity, and a database of exam info, keyed to an "ExamID". This works well for inputting, tracking and updating lists of students, exam and course numbers, objectives, question text, answer text, and the like.

Where I'm running into a mental block conceptually is with the information stored for a specific instance of a student taking an exam. I need to track values such as DateTime of the beginning and end of the session, time spent on each question, which questions were displayed, etc.

Knowing what I know of dB structure, which I fully admit is next to nothing, I can't think of a way to do this without dynamically generating a new table for each instance of a given exam. If I do this, then once I hit production, I'll end up with an ExamInstances database with hundreds of tables keyed to ExamInstanceIDs, and more being generated every day. I don't know if that's likely to cause problems, but it seems like a very inelegant way to do things.

And therein lies my question: what's the best way to do this? Is there an accepted standard for this sort of thing, or can anyone offer any advice? Being new at this, I'm crossing my fingers that there's something obvious I'm missing. If so, please don't be shy in letting me know.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I would go for an intermediate table between the STUDENTS and EXAMS, call it STUDENTS_EXAMS.