Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99

    Unanswered: "Configure Oracle Net"

    Hello,
    I ve met this , what is it actually asking?

    "1.Configure Oracle Net so that the source database can communicate with the capture database."

    I created 2 dblinks between these 2 databases.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool sql*net

    And....Did you configure the alias' in tnsnames.ora?
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Hi
    I checked document deeper and I saw that it was just about "ping" .Both servers can ping each other.So that was it?

    why should I check that file? I donot have any problem with it.I m trying to understand what this means and why this is needed.

    Best Regards

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    And....Did you configure the alias' in tnsnames.ora?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Configure Oracle Net

    To Configure Oracle Net, you need two files present in the source server (client): sqlnet.ora and tnsnames.ora

    The tnsnames.ora should have the location (address) and service name of the target database you want the db-link to connect to.


    PS: Check out the fine Oracle® Database Net Services Administrator's Guide

    Also you can use the netca (Net Configuration Assistant) to configure the network database connectivity.
    .
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    To Configure Oracle Net, you need two files present in the source server (client): sqlnet.ora and tnsnames.ora

    The tnsnames.ora should have the location (address) and service name of the target database you want the db-link to connect to.


    PS: Check out the fine Oracle® Database Net Services Administrator's Guide

    Also you can use the netca (Net Configuration Assistant) to configure the network database connectivity.
    .
    As I said there is not any problem in those configs.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Then what?

    Quote Originally Posted by sunsail
    As I said there is not any problem in those configs.
    Thanks
    Then what is your problem?
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    Then what is your problem?
    Well,
    If you read above carefully,I m following a document and I m trying to understand why ?
    it's not an actual problem.I donot have any connection problem.
    I m trying to figure out if this is all about "pinging"?
    Best Regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •