Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: ODBC - Call Failed

I'm a database noob, so please be gentle...

I'm using Access 2003 to open files in Access 2000 file format. I'm using a System DSN set up some linked tables through the ODBC Data Source Administrator.

The particular Access database that I need to use gives me "ODBC--call failed" each time I try to use it. Testing the connection through the ODBC data source administrator gives me "Connection successful" every time, and I have several other Access files using the same data source that work fine.

I thought that maybe it would be a server timeout, but the timeout is set to 60 seconds, and the error comes up after 5 seconds. I tried recreating the linked tables, and that didn't seem to help. Any ideas?

Are the other Access files also running off of Access 2003 with a 2000 format?
    Me.Geek = True

Quote Originally Posted by nckdryr
    Are the other Access files also running off of Access 2003 with a 2000 format?
    Yes, I open the files with Access 2003 and the format on those files is Access 2000 as well.

Other users of these files (there are 3 of us) are apparently having the same issue where the data source works for any file but these. I just really don't want to spend the time reimporting forms, queries, local tables, etc., but it looks like that might be what i have to do...

Provided Answers: 14
    Could you check some properties of the attached tables and see if they are coherent?

Code:
        Dim tdf As DAO.TableDef
        Dim dbs As DAO.DataBase
        Dim i as integer

Set dbs = CurrentDb
        For i = 0 To dbs.TableDefs.count - 1
            Set tdf = dbs.TableDefs(i)
            If Len(tdf.Connect) Then    
                Debug.Print tdf.Name
                Debug.Print, tdf.SourceTableName
                Debug.print, tdf.Connect
            End If
        Next i
        Set tdf = Nothing
        Set dbs = Nothing
    Have a nice day!

Quote Originally Posted by Sinndho