Unanswered: Having problem with tretrieving table names

Hello Everyone,
    I am new to DB2.I have couple of questions.
    Before to my question.I am using DB2 type 4 driver.(db2jccjar).
    I have a data base and trying to retrieve all the table names under the data base from java client.
    I have used the following code.

Statement stmt = con.createStatement();
    String query="list database directory show detail";
    stmt.execute(query);
    But it throws me an exception as follows.
    DB2 SQL Error: SQLCODE=-104, SQLSTATE=42601, SQLERRMC=END-OF-STATEMENT;irectory show detail;JOIN <joined_table>,
    I would really appreciate if some one can help me out for this question.
    Thanks in advace.

Provided Answers: 1
    "LIST DATABASE DIRECTORY" lists, well, databases, not tables. Besides, it is not an SQL statement but rather a CLP command, so you cannot execute it via JDBC.

The best way to obtain the list of tables is by using a java.sql.DatabaseMetaData.getColumns() call. If you must query the database, the information you are looking for is in the SYSCAT.TABLES table.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Thanks a lot for your quick response.Yes you are correct i wanted to execute from JDBC .Can you please explain little bit about SYSCAT.TABLES??????
    I would really appreciate if you can send me a reply....

Thanks a lot for your quick response.Yes you are correct i wanted to execute from JDBC .Can you please explain little bit about SYSCAT.TABLES??????
    I would really appreciate if you can send me a reply....

Provided Answers: 1
    A little bit (and a lot) about SYSCAT.TABLES is written in the fine DB2 SQL Reference manual, a link to which you can find in the sticky post at the top of this fine forum.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Hello,