Thread: Search form

Unanswered: Search form

Firstly let me apologise for any incorrect terminology in the below! I'm new to Access and database design (though not database administration as a whole), but not to IT in general.

I have a database partly constructed and want to push it through to completion, only I have come across a few stumbling blocks. The primary purpose of the database is to store the details of projects, things like their name, codes, cost, donor, description & staff etc and allow users to search for projects based on criteria. Ideally once the desired records have been filtered/search/queried, then the information should be exported to a Microsoft Word 2007 template via a mail merge.

So far I have set up the database to receive user inputted data quite easily, there is a form which allows easy user input into the master table and it works well. I am stuck at the best way to set it up so my users can query records and do exports.

I have set up the database so far as below:

project_data – this contains all the project information, the master table, if you will.
    country_data – this tables contains all the countries of the world, it populates the a drop down on my main entry form.
    Currency_data – this table contains all the world currencies and similarly, populates a drop down on the main entry form.
    Donor_data – as above, only with donors
    Keyword_data – ditto
    Staff_data – ditto