Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95

    Unanswered: Multiple Switchboard Problem

    I have multiple switchboards. The default and two others. I cannot figure out how to make a command button open up either of the two non-default switchboards.

    When I go through the wizard for creating a command button, I am not even given the option to select either of the two non-default switchboards.

    How do I go about coding or setting up a command button to open a non-default switchboard?

    Thanks,
    CT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    277
    Where is this command button located? There is nothing special about a SwitchBoard form as far as the Name is concerned. Just open it just like you would with any other form.
    RuralGuy (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch MS Access MVP - acXP, ac07, ac10 - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro
    Please reply to this forum so all may learn.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Assuming these "non-default switchboards" are forms, have a look at the OpenForm Method.
    Me.Geek = True

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    I made these switchboards with the "Switchboard Manager" and they do not appear in my object menu under forms, or anywhere for that matter.

    Example... I have three switchboards named...
    SB1 (Default)
    SB2
    SB3

    SB1 is the default, and this is the only switchboard displayed on my list of forms, and it is displayed as "Switchboard" not by the name I gave it.

    How do I make a command button, which is located on a completely different form, open up a non-default switchboard that was created in the Switchboard Manager?

    Hope this is more clear,
    CT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    277
    How about Tools>Options...>View>[Hidden Objects]
    RuralGuy (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch MS Access MVP - acXP, ac07, ac10 - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro
    Please reply to this forum so all may learn.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    Thanks for your suggestion RuralGuy, however that did not work.

    Thanks,
    CT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    just look at the data
    the switchboard writes data to a table which indicates the actions and the path/name of the object. by understanding the data you can then push people down the appropriate switchboard.

    however for me if you've got to the route of multiple switchboards you may have reached the stage where you can write your own switchboard forms.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    I can write my own switchboard form, however, my manager is requesting me to use multiple switchboards using the switchboard manager, making a custom switchboard not acceptable.

    Thanks,
    CT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Then perhaps it's time to explain to your manager that there are two options; (1) using the switchboard manager as he/she suggests and taking a very long time to figure out this particular problem, (2) using the switchboard manager as he/she suggests and just route to the main page and let the user figure out to go to the subsequent page, or (3) develop your own form quickly that looks like and acts as a switchboard (but without Bill Gates "genius" built in) and still give the user what they want. Sometimes managers need you to spell things out for them, even though they would never admit it.
    Me.Geek = True

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Quote Originally Posted by CTChris
    I can write my own switchboard form, however, my manager is requesting me to use multiple switchboards using the switchboard manager, making a custom switchboard not acceptable.
    If this was me, I would tell the manager that since he insists on multiple switchboards with the switchboard manager and not using custom "switchboards" that he needs to solve the problem then!

    I've used the switchboard manager once. I hated it and never used it again. Way too complex for what is a very simple task.

    Good luck tho
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •