Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14

    Unanswered: Database down since power outage

    I am running DB2 v8.1.14.292 on windows.
    Over the weekend there was a power outage which forced the server to shutdown.

    Now I can no longer connect to the database!?!?!?!?!

    I recieve this error when I am in the contraol center:

    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol
    being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location
    where the error was detected: "XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX".
    Communication function detecting the error: "recv". Protocol specific
    error code(s): "10054", "*", "0". SQLSTATE=08001

    As well I noticed the Event viewer gives me this warning:

    2009-07-13-13.12.14.048000 InstanceB2CTLSV Node:000
    PID:2560(db2syscs.exe) TID:2980 Appid:none
    base sys utilities sqleGetAgent Probe:100

    ADM7519W DB2 could not allocate an agent. The SQLCODE is "-1223".

    And this Error:

    2009-07-13-13.12.14.048001 InstanceB2CTLSV Node:000
    PID:2560(db2syscs.exe) TID:2980 Appid:none
    common communication sqlcctcpconnmgr_child Probe:125

    ADM7009E An error was encountered in the "TCPIP" protocol support. A possible
    cause is that the maximum number of agents has been exceeded.

    I have tried to increase the MAX Agents but it seemed to do nothing.

    ANY IDEAS? PLEASE HELP?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    When the power was restored and the server restarted, was DB2 restarted (db2start)?

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Can you connect locally to a database?

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    Yes tried that and it says the manager is already active. I also verified that that the services are running and they seem ok.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    To my knowledge this is the only database running on the machine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    So, you are telling me that you are trying to connect to the database that resides locally on the machine, and you are getting the error above?

    If, so, what is the output of: "db2 list database directory" ?

    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    Database 35 entry:

    Database alias = FWAXA35
    Database name = FWAXA35
    Node name = NDE7DF3A
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Remote
    Catalog database partition number = -1
    Alternate server hostname =
    Alternate server port number =

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    That is showing that the database is on another machine (server). Get on that server and try to connect to the database.

    Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner
    That is showing that the database is on another machine (server).
    Not necessarily. Could be a loopback; we will need to see the LIST NODE DIRECTORY output as well to be sure.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    Node 10 entry:

    Node name = NDE7DF3A
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = LOCAL
    Protocol = TCPIP
    Hostname = develsrv03
    Service name = 50001

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is the output of "db2set -all"?

    Andy

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    You need to execute it from a DB2 "Window" not the CLP.

    Andy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was not a
    valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it returned:
    SQL1024N A database connection does not exist. SQLSTATE=08003

    do I have to connect to the database to run this because as I mentioned I cannot connect to it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    14
    [e] DB2PATH=C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB
    [i] DB2ACCOUNTNAME=DEVELSRV03\db2admin
    [i] DB2INSTOWNER=DEVELSRV03
    [i] DB2PORTRANGE=60000:60003
    [i] DB2INSTPROF=C:\PROGRA~1\IBM\SQLLIB
    [i] DB2COMM=TCPIP
    [g] DB2_EXTSECURITY=YES
    [g] DB2SYSTEM=DEVELSRV03
    [g] DB2PATH=C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB
    [g] DB2INSTDEF=DB2CTLSV
    [g] DB2ADMINSERVER=DB2DAS00

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    That looks OK. Is there anything in the db2diag.log file?

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •