Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123

    Unanswered: Problems restoring database

    Hi,

    I just installed DB2 V8.1 , Fixpack 15 on one of our servers and for some reason, I see a bunch of these errors in the db2diag.log file while the restore command is being run --

    2009-07-14-17.00.21.078895+000 I100434G357 LEVEL: Severe
    PID : 31667 TID : 4095662272 PROC : db2agent (DBASE1)
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000 DB : DBASE1
    APPHDL : 0-111 APPID: *LOCAL.nrg1.090714170022
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleserl, probe:10
    RETCODE : ZRC=0xFFFFFBA1=-1119

    2009-07-14-17.00.21.079219+000 I100792G394 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 6973 TID : 4027743120 PROC : db2hmon
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Health Monitor, HmonMainCB::refreshDbAutonomicSwitches, probe:160
    MESSAGE : Failed connecting to database "DBASE1 "
    DATA #1 : Hexdump, 4 bytes
    0xF012457C : A1FB FFFF ....

    2009-07-14-17.00.21.081162+000 I101187G375 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 31666 TID : 4095662272 PROC : db2agent (DBASE1)
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000 DB : DBASE1
    APPHDL : 0-112 APPID: *LOCAL.nrg1.090714170023
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleCheckForBackupRestore, probe:10
    RETCODE : ZRC=0xFFFFFBA1=-1119

    2009-07-14-17.00.21.081348+000 I101563G376 LEVEL: Severe
    PID : 31666 TID : 4095662272 PROC : db2agent (DBASE1)
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000 DB : DBASE1
    APPHDL : 0-112 APPID: *LOCAL.nrg1.090714170023
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqlePrepareForSerialization, probe:20
    RETCODE : ZRC=0xFFFFFBA1=-1119


    If I run the command on the code above --

    db2diag -rc 0xFFFFFBA1

    Input ECF string '0xFFFFFBA1' parsed as 0xFFFFFBA1 (-1119).
    NOTE: ../sqz/sqlzwhatisrc.C:
    V7 input ZRC 0xFFFFFBA1 (-1119) may translate to V8 ZRC value of 0x83000BA1 (-2097149023)

    ZRC value to map: 0x83000BA1 (-2097149023)
    V7 Equivalent ZRC value: 0xFFFFBBA1 (-17503)

    ZRC class :
    Unexpected Operating System error (Class Index: 3)
    Component:
    Unknown component (Component Index: 0)
    Undefined as of DB2 v8.1.2.136; s070720
    Operating system reason code (errno):
    0x00000BA1 (2977) = Unknown error 2977
    NOTE: Errno value 2977 is excessively large.
    It is possible that this error code is not a ZRC value.



    Attempting to lookup value 0xFFFFFBA1 (-1119) as a sqlcode
    Sqlcode -1119
    SQL1119N A connection to or activation of database "" cannot be made because a
    previous restore is incomplete.


    I don't have any applications connecting to the db. Any thoughts on how I can fix this problem? Thanks!!
    Last edited by db2user; 07-14-09 at 14:15.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Does the restore go to completion? I suspect that the Health Monitor is trying to connect to it while you are restoring it and as such fails.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Hi,

    I killed the restore command as soon as I saw the errors.. but I saw the same errors on another machine some time ago and killed that one too since it had been more than 18-19 hours and the restore never completed.... am not sure what to do now..do you think I should just let the command run on this current machine and check if it completes? Or any suggestions on how I can avoid getting this error when I try this again --

    SQL1119N A connection to or activation of database "" cannot be made because a
    previous restore is incomplete.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Try doing this:

    1) Bounce the instance (db2stop, db2start).
    2) Restart the restore.
    3) Periodically monitor the restore with "db2 list utilities show detail"
    4) If the "Completed Work" stops going up for a long while, then you have a problem. If it continues to go up, let it run to completion.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    thanks so much.. i will try it out and let you know how it goes!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Hi again,

    Just wanted to let you know that the 'Completed Work' value stopped increasing about 3 hours into the restore process. So something is definitely wrong with the db..can't imagine why this is happening.. I have installed and restored the db just fine on similar machines in the past..
    Last edited by db2user; 07-15-09 at 03:13.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    How close did "Completed Work" get to the size of the backup image?

    Andy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    good question.. it actually went to the full size of the backup image.. but the restore command never went to the prompt so I killed it..the restore command was successfully able to extract the log files and put them in a folder that I specified ( my backup images have log files attached to them)

    I get this if I give the rollforward command --

    db2 rollforward db dbase1 to end of logs and stop overflow log path \(/home/db2inst1/logs\)
    SQL1119N A connection to or activation of database "DBASE1" cannot be made
    because a previous restore is incomplete. SQLSTATE=57019

    This is probably because I killed the command even though it seems like the completed work was done.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by db2user
    This is probably because I killed the command even though it seems like the completed work was done.
    That would be my assessment as well. How long did you wait before you killed the restore? Is there anything special/different on the server you are trying to restore to from the ones where it works?

    Andy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by db2user
    but the restore command never went to the prompt so I killed it..
    Is there a reason why you have not yet shared the actual restore command with us?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Andy -- I waited for about 2-3 hours before I killed it... I don't think there is anything different on this server.. can't image why I would get connection/activation errors when I don't have any applications running on this part. server.. it's pretty much a clean box. And I still get the errors in the db2diag.log file even though the restore command is no longer running -

    PID : 31666 TID : 4095662272 PROC : db2agent (DBASE1)
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000 DB : DBASE1
    APPHDL : 0-112 APPID: *LOCAL.nrg1.090714170023
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqlePrepareForSerialization, probe:20
    RETCODE : ZRC=0xFFFFFBA1=-1119

    And because of this I can't even run the db2stop command now ( after terminate, force applications all.. etc)

    Nick -- no, there's no reason.. here it is :

    db2 restore db dbase1 from /home/db2inst1 taken at 20090705050002 logtarget /home/db2inst1/logs/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Your original post look like the Health Monitor was the one trying the connection. Disable it and try again. Also, I do not know if it will make any difference, but try adding the "without prompting" clause to the restore command.

    Andy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    also, try restoring the db without extracting the logs, remove "logtarget /home/db2inst1/logs/"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Thanks for the replies!

    Andy - Can I disable the health monitor by just giving this command :

    db2 update dbm cfg using HEALTH_MON off

    or do i need to do something else?

    db2girl -- I don't think this has anything to do with the logs.. I def. need to extract the log files so don't think I want to remove logtarget

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Yes, that is the command to turn it off.

    I think what Bella is getting at is to not extract the logs during the database restore. You can extract them later before you do the rollforward.

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •