Dead Database Programer Problem

First off hi to all out there, this is my first time to this thread. I am working with this guy and his partner in his business died unfortunately for him but me as well because I have been contracted to up date the program he made. It is a database lookup program written in I think Bortland C++ and Desktop Database. He has even very left a list of instructions but when followed do not work but give hints to his intentions. I have narrowed the problem down too the program he wrote to update his programs makes a data base from another database. One his program can use but the problem is I can only get the program to work when the update data is in the original place. So when I cut and paste the new data base into the folder where the program is his update program will not work. I checked that the database is not read only. So is there a special way to move a data base? Help Please

Thanks for your reply I did look at the C++ code and that is what I said to the client but all the files are in a pretty random order and no project codes and a ton of files called the same thing. But the problem I have narrowed down to the database that I am trying to use the update program with ,the dead man has all ready used to update the program, I am trying to redo his results. The problem is when I copy and paste the source data base from the CD to the folder with the update program it wont recognize the table. But it will with the copy of the table that is in the folder all ready.

There is a file extension called .mdb witch I have a small thought might be the culprit if someone might be able to explain I am totally confused about this, so any help would be appreciated.

And have looked again and there is a .ndx file as well.