Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: restore failing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288

    Unanswered: restore failing

    I am migrating (restoring) 3 V7 Databases in to a Ver 8 instance.

    two of the databases restore just fine. the third is failing.

    Here is the restore code:
    Code:
    RESTORE DATABASE DBINGWT2 FROM "E:\BATCH_BACKUP\" TAKEN AT 20090714225004 WITH 1 BUFFERS BUFFER 1024 PARALLELISM 1 WITHOUT PROMPTING;
    Here is what I'm seeing in the diag.log:

    Code:
    DIA0001E An internal error occurred. Report the following error code : 
    "ZRC=0xFFFFEC55".
    
    2009-07-17-12.24.03.003000   Instance:DB2   Node:000
    PID:2512(db2syscs.exe)   TID:796   Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.0253C7162402
    base sys utilities  sqleserl Probe:10 
    
    DIA0001E An internal error occurred. Report the following error code : 
    "ZRC=0xFFFFEC55".
    
    2009-07-17-12.24.03.034000   Instance:DB2   Node:000
    PID:2512(db2syscs.exe)   TID:796   Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.0253C7162402
    base sys utilities  sqlelost Probe:40
    The restore has been running over an hour and I ex[ected it to finish in about 15 mins.

    I've tried searching the errors found in the diag.log but I'm not having any luck. Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Try removing the "without prompting" part and see if it prompts you for anything.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288
    excuse my ignorance but how to I cancel the one that is running from the task center???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    The error in the db2diag.log indicates that the db requires migration (db should be migrated during restore). Are you sure the restore is still running?

    Do "db2 list applications show detail" from the command line to check. I don't know how to cancel restore from the Task Center, but you can use the force application command from the command line.

    First, check if restore is still running. If it's, check if there are any new errors logged in the diag.log. Restore portion can complete but migration can fail.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    288
    Thanks db2girl! I think i'm hosed though. List Applications and List Utilities both hang ( i know you can do list utilities in V9, not sure about V8). I guess I'll try a DB2STOP and if that doesn't work I'll reboot. Do you see anything wrong with my restore command? I don't know why two of them worked and this one is failing..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    The restore command looks ok. You can remove "without prompting" but I don't think it will make much difference in this case. Restore should complete successfully or come back with an error (if restore portion fails) or warning (if migration portion fails).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •