Unanswered: really weird query problem (-1 vs true)

I'm using MS Access 2003 and SQL Server 2000 for an application I've been running for a few years.

I've got a query which filters out the non-active employees by placing a -1 in the criteria box for the ysnActive field. Here's the kicker:

• I was seeing my Active Employees Friday, but Monday the query returns nothing - there were no changes to the application.
    • I verified that the data still shows active employees - it does.
    • If I change the MS Access query to filter with 1 instead of -1, I see my Active employees. (This is NOT a Pass-Thru query.)
    • If I change the MS Access query to filter with TRUE instead of -1, I see my Active employees.
    • If I restore the SQL Server database to Friday morning and run the same application - the query works with -1 or True.
    • I used SQL Compare (Red Gate) to compare the database schema - they seem to be identical.
    • I tried rebuilding the indexes - this did not help.

I'm stumped. I have no clue where to look next. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx!

Angelo

Provided Answers: 59
    so presumably the problem is that you are relying on a sepcific numeric value rather than the true/false intrinsic constants.

you cannot guarantee that the numeric representation is the same between databases and different versions of databases. for a true / false value use the constants true or false

my suspiscion is that a change to was applied to the database engine or drivers, or possibly compatabiity mode has been turned off in Access
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

so presumably the problem is that you are relying on a sepcific numeric value rather than the true/false intrinsic constants. You are correct! I won't do that again. I will try to find all occurences and change them.