Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: Paradox Database crashed - Guess .mb is corrupt

    Hey,

    i was wondering if there is any way to repair my Paradox Database. I have already tried various Programms to repair a Paradox Database but no one of them did work. I have just removed the .mb file and the Database worked....

    so i guess the .mb is corrupt. Is there any way to repair this file? It contains very important data =/

    thanks for any advice

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    369
    no, you can't repair the mb file.. that is one of the risks of using a memo field.. if you have a backup, there are ways to recover the previous portion of that file, and append to the current table..
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

    http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

    Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3
    Is there no way to remove the latest 10 Entry's in the blob/memo-file and restore the rest of it? cos i guess the Problem is in the last 10 entrys...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    369
    if the mb is corrupt, there is no way to really know what you need to remove, if at all.. from experience, my only suggestion is to work with a backup, and try to pass over what it has, losing anything since then..
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

    http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

    Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3
    i dont really have a backup.... =/ The Problem occurent during saving an entry for my Programm so i guess it must depend on one of the last entrys... aint memos/blobs formated like tabels too so there is a way to remove some of the latest entrys?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    369
    aint memos/blobs formated like tabels too so there is a way to remove some of the latest entrys?

    no.. memo fields are *nothing* like tables.. if the file is corrupt and you can't open it, game over.. the repair tools don't work on memo fields..
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

    http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

    Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2
    Hi derEkni, which tools did you try? I periodically use the microsoft sql 2000 database recovery tool, not sure if it works in your case but it repairs many errors

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    369
    on his behalf, I'll say thanks.. but we're talking about damage to a Paradox table, not an MS SQL table.. every platform has its' own tools..
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

    http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

    Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •