Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399

    Unanswered: 'list utility show detail' does not work

    db2 ESE v9.5.1/AIX 6.1
    i started reorg:
    db2 -v reorg indexes all for table DBA.AAA allow no access

    and want to monitor the process by:
    db2 list utility show detail

    and it does not show any processes:
    SQL1611W No data was returned by Database System Monitor. SQLSTATE=00000

    Tried it on other servers and sometimes it works and sometimes it does not.

    Queries below does not show any processes either:
    db2 “SELECT SUBSTR(TABNAME, 1, 15) AS TAB_NAME, SUBSTR(TABSCHEMA, 1, 15) AS TAB_SCHEMA,REORG_PHASE,SUBSTR(REORG_TYPE, 1, 20) AS REORG_TYPE,REORG_STATUS, REORG_COMPLETION FROM SYSIBMADM.SNAPTAB_REORG ORDER BY TAB_NAME”

    or

    db2 -x "select substr(table_name,1,20),REORG_START ,REORG_END ,REORG_STATUS,REORG_CURRENT_COUNTER,REORG_max_COUN TER from table (snapshot_tbreorg('smcirrif',-1)) as gg order by table_name"

    Did anyone have same issues? Does anyone know why? Thanks in advance
    Last edited by MarkhamDBA; 07-28-09 at 11:43.
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    When you issue the REORG, are you connected to the database in the default instance (the one indicated by the DB2INSTANCE environment variable)? If not, you may need to attach to the proper instance.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by n_i
    When you issue the REORG, are you connected to the database in the default instance (the one indicated by the DB2INSTANCE environment variable)? If not, you may need to attach to the proper instance.
    Ok, I checked
    echo $DB2INSTANCE
    db2v9i1
    perfdb22[/home/dba/move_table]db2 get instance
    The current database manager instance is: db2v9i1

    and changed my script to attach to instance:
    db2 attach to db2v9i1

    before starting reorg. Still no show:
    db2 list utilities show detail
    SQL1611W No data was returned by Database System Monitor. SQLSTATE=00000
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    You don't need to explicitly attach to the default instance. My question was if the database where you were running the REORG was in the same instance where your ran LIST UTILITIES.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    this is a similar problem that I had with db2pd command while back. You have to run this command on the partition that is holding those tables. Specially if those partitions are on a diff server.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by Cougar8000
    this is a similar problem that I had with db2pd command while back. You have to run this command on the partition that is holding those tables. Specially if those partitions are on a diff server.
    if you mean DPF we don't use it. I submitted 'list utilities' command in the same screen (script was 'nohuped') so I guess I was on the same partition anyway.
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by n_i
    You don't need to explicitly attach to the default instance. My question was if the database where you were running the REORG was in the same instance where your ran LIST UTILITIES.
    it is the same, Nick. it would be a silly mistake, wouldn't it?
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkhamDBA
    it is the same, Nick.
    Prove it.

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkhamDBA
    it would be a silly mistake, wouldn't it?
    Doesn't mean it couldn't happen, does it?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    list utilities doesn't display reorg info. Try db2pd with -reorg.

    You can also see some reorg info from db2diag.log/notify.log and list history

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •