Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question Unanswered: Unable to detect pre requisite DB2 installation

    While installing a Software, which requires DB2 as pre requisite:
    The setup is unable to detect an installation of DB2 even if it is there.

    Any pointers on this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Iasi, Romania
    Posts
    561
    Provided Answers: 2
    Maybe
    - the server is stopped
    - you are installing on a client machine and you don't have DB2 Client installed on it
    - you do not have any cataloged database
    Florin Aparaschivei
    DB2 9.7, 10.5 on Windows
    Iasi, Romania

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    16
    The server is started.
    Db2 is on local machine itself.
    and if no cataloged databade, then Db2 installation is not detected?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Iasi, Romania
    Posts
    561
    Provided Answers: 2
    Depend how smart your Software is and how it tries to verify DB2. Also, maybe it wants a different version of DB2.
    Florin Aparaschivei
    DB2 9.7, 10.5 on Windows
    Iasi, Romania

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    It may be looking for the environmental variable DB2INSTANCE which may not be set.
    RD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Could it also be that it's looking for db2 filesets using OS commands and doesn't them. (this is for v9 on linux/unix)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •