Thread: IIF Statement?

Question Unanswered: IIF Statement?

Greetings.

I have a DB2 connection to a table that 1)has more than 255 fields , an MS access restriction, and 2) a specific value can exist in any of 55 fields.

I solved # 1 by using a passthrough query

Is there a way to query all fields for this specific value, while avoiding a very lengthy iif statement, and return that value in an expression column?

I hope I explained that clearly, I am not a developer nor a SQL expert and can use any advice available.

Thanks!

Provided Answers: 10
    I wonder if this construct will work - will have to find some time to test tomorrow...
    Code:
    SELECT CASE 'search value'
             WHEN col1 THEN col1
             WHEN col2 THEN col2
             WHEN col3 THEN col3
             WHEN col4 THEN col4

WHEN colN THEN colN
           ELSE
             'Not found'
           END
    FROM   da_table
    George
    Home | Blog

mmmmm How About

DECLARE @i INT
    WHILE @i < 55
    BEGIN
    SET @i=@i+1
    EXEC [dalinkedserver].master.dbo.sp_executesql N'SELECT FROM [da_table] WHERE [da_column]'+ i + '= [da_value]'
    IF @@ROWCOUNT > 0 BREAK
    END
    "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein
    "Everything should be made as complex as possible, so I look Cleverer." - Application Developer

Question Responses to the Newbie

gvee - I tried the case statement for 2 hours last night, only to relaize that CASE is not support in an MS Access query. Any SQL code I try would need to be supported in MS access.

This looks like the way to go, I just need to consider possible options, as I only have MS access at my disposal. Any thoughts on how to write the case statement outside iof access, what could I use?

GWilliy - Thank you for the response. Unfortunatley , I have no clue what all that means. Would that be in an MSaccess SQl query, a form, function, etc?

Thanks for the ideas!

Quote Originally Posted by dz1rfj