Unanswered: Taking data from three workbooks combining into one workbook.

Hello and please forgive me for asking such a lengthy question my first time on here but I have been given a task to write a macro that will do the following and I have no experience in macro writing. Here is what I need:

I want to open a workbook and run a macro that will look for data in three different workbooks, take some of the data from each workbook and create a new workbook with this data.

From Workbook one I need to start at column B row 8 and pull the data until it finds an empty cell in this column. I need to copy and paste the data from columns B, D, E, G, H, I, J, K and L. What I need to do I paste them into specific columns within the workbook I am saving them as follows. B to A, D to G, E to H, G to I, H to M, I to L, J to N, K to O and L to P.

Next I need to open workbook 2 start at B8 again and do the same as above only coping the data in columns B, D, F and H. I also need to put this data into specific columns.
    B to A, D to B, F to G and H to K. I need to add this data to the data from above.

I need to repeat this process for a third workbook. Then I would like to sort the new workbook by column A and save this as a new workbook.

Being new to macro writing I told my boss I would need lots of help with this. Does someone have any code that does this type of thing so I can see how to do this?

Thanks,

Provided Answers: 2
    This is not a simple task!

Before getting onto the code, there are a few things to consider:
    • Will the source workbooks always be the same?
    • Will the source books be in the same directory as each other?
    • Will the source lists always be the same size?

Once you've established that, the macro will be easier to write.

My gut instinct would be to write something that opens all the source files at once, combines the source values into total amounts and then dumps it in the destination.