Question checking for normalization

Hello

I am not completely new to databases and normalization but I still have alot more I could learn. However I am a student looking to my dissertation based on the idea of normalization

I was just wondering if any of you know of any software that will take SQL tables and check to see if they are in normal form?

If not, or even if yes, is this easily achievable?

I was also wondering with normalization do you have to know the names of the columns to be able to do it

For instance you could perform normalization on a table with names such as 'age' 'teacher' 'location' because you know how they relate to each other. Could you perform normalization on a table that had names '.' '/' '?' even though you have no idea what each of them are?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

PS I have looked around for the answer to this myself, I'm not being lazy. I've had no luck though so I was really hoping someone experienced could spare 5minutes and reply

In order to normalise, you need to either know or infer the dependencies. Seeing real column names and real data can help you infer dependencies.

If you have nonsense column names and no data, then normalisation is still possible though you would require the dependencies to be explicitly stated.

e.g.
    ("?", "/") -> "!"
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    In order to normalise, you need to either know or infer the dependencies. Seeing real column names and real data can help you infer dependencies.

If you have nonsense column names and no data, then normalisation is still possible though you would require the dependencies to be explicitly stated.

e.g.
    ("?", "/") -> "!"

Thank you

So it wouldnt actually be possible to generate an application that completely does it alone? It would require some user input.. Right?

I reckon you should figure that one out as you work through your dissertation