Unanswered: CMDB for Databases - Database of Databases ?

Not sure whether this is the right forum to ask but here goes,

I am a SQL/Oracle dba for a large company, we have a lot of servers around the world with a lot of databases on and currently I am using a spreadsheet to keep track of this but its not the right tool.

I would live something that logs server, instance, database with the ability to compare what should be on a server with what is actually there, i.e. compare a real time "SP Databases" with the listed databases and to report any discrepancies, I would use this database to record passwords, narrative about each server, instance or database.

A lot of the commercial tools such as DBartisan from Embarcadero will connect in real time to both SQL and Oracle but it doesnt allow you to add information so you end up with a spreadsheet to record this in which isnt ideal, a tool that did this and the real time monitoring would be great but for now one for the CMDB aspect would be great, we have Infra and our change managment people are looking at incorporating database information but I dont think it will be flexible enough.

If such a tool were available would it be of any interest to you, is it something that could be useful ?

Provided Answers: 11
    I built my own database for all database information. I also have scripts that go out twice a day to record database file sizes for all of the databases here (just over 700 at last count). I have to say, it makes my life a heck of a lot easier. Even just being able to tell management we have over 700 databases comprising just over 2 TB of data makes them quiver. You should really add in a perl script that goes through the errorlog of each SQL Server instance and bring back a listing of interesting messages. Cuts down time spent scouring errorlogs tremendously.