Unanswered: Migrate data after change of the database structure

First, I am an application developer, not an experienced DBA and this have maybe been asked for before ...

In general, how do solve a scenario like this the easiest way?

I have a DB2 database with a lot of data and I have changed the the SQL scripts I use to create the database structure. Some new tables have been added, some columns have been added to existing tables, a few tables have been dropped and a few columns have been dropped from existing tables.

Now, before I drop the database and creates it again with the changed SQL scripts, how do I save the data? And how do I put all the data back again?

One way to do this that I can imagine is to maintain two set of SQL scripts. One of these that use the old database structure is for copy the data from the current database to a temporary database (something like a lot of SELECT FROM ... INTO ...). And the other that use the new database structure is for copy the data from the temporary database to the recreated database.

Is this the way to go or are there better ways for a developer to do this during continuous development where I have to regenerate the database repeatedly?

Opinions and suggestions on this would be very interesting, thanks!

Provided Answers: 11
    the best would be to prepare the export jobs to keep the target data
    export with literals, joins... whatever needed
    after just execute the preformatted load
    if the 2 db will exist next to each other and need to be in synch, maybe replication could be a solution for you
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.