Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20

    Exclamation Unanswered: Forms in Access 2007

    Do forms have to be linked to a single table or can they be linked to multiple tables? I have two tables I want objects from both to be in form but it keeps associating it with one table ???

    Im probably being a complete thick **** so feel free to tag me with the biggest n00b badge...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    No swearing please.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Sorry Pootle Flump I was only knocking my n00bishness not actually flaming an individual...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    I know - that's why I only requested no swearing rather than anything more. Although in practice we are not going to get any kids on here, we keep it clean
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    BTW - the answer is yes. Specifically what do you want to happen?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Thanks - I will use the word tool - I find that cleaner and makes people laugh more!

    Well it basically rolls on from your previous post about breaking the first normal form. As you said that one customer has many dispositions. So separated the tables and made a tbldispositions and tblcustomers. I want to make a form that allows me to drag and drop fields from both tables BUT it wants to "assign" itself to one or the other and won't sit as an "Unrelated Object"

    Its probably the most n00b like question but Im pretty sure in 2003/2002 I was able to do it...
    Last edited by BackForBreakfast; 08-19-09 at 12:04.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Ok - if you are going for the two table approach then you want to use a form and subform. Essentially, your person record provides the "header" information on the "parent" form. The sub form contains all the dispositions for that person (i.e. it would display several disposition rows).

    Of course, this assumes you were taking my advice and splitting the table in to two.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Cool thanks pootle - you don't fancy making this for me ???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    I got a SubForm in the main form and in Design view its their but in Form view it comes up as a table ??? Surely thats not quite right...

    EDIT - Scrap that figured out what I forgot to change...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •