Unanswered: entering the now() parameter when a field is empty?

Hi,
    I am very new to access and am trying to build a data base from the ground up.
    I work with children and need to record the amount of time they are being cared for.
    In my query I have two columns. One called PlaceStart and the other PlacetEnd.
    When all the data is filled in for the relevant tables I can run the query easily with the column criteria set at >=[Enter Start Date _ _/_ _/_ _ ] for Place Start and <=[Enter End Date _ _/_ _/_ _ ] in the PlacetEnd Column.

My problem is that for children still in care the data is not yet populated with an end date and I would like the query to assume that the end date is either NOW() or the date I type as the EndDate in the query.
    If this makes sense to someone I could really like a suggestion.

Welcome to the forums

As you say you are new to Access, I'll try to be as specific as I can, forgive me if I come off as condescending, let me know if I'm not specific enough.

Go to your query, and view it in SQL view; you should see a bunch of text, this is the core of a query and is what the query builder is building for you. I assume you have some sort of statement that will look something like this:
    Code:
    SELECT ..., [tblName].[fldName], ...
    FROM tblName
    WHERE (([tblName].[fldName] >= [Enter Start Date _ _/_ _/_ _ ]) AND ([tblName].[fldName] <= [Enter End Date _ _/_ _/_ _ ]));
    Or something near to that, where "tblName" will be the name of your table, and "fldName" will be the name of your field with the date in question. If you have other fields being selected, that's fine, just leave them alone as it doesn't sound like they're being a problem.

Then try changing the part of the SELECT statement with the date field in question to read something like:
    Code:
    SELECT ..., IIF(IsNull([tblName].[fldName]), [Enter End Date _ _/_ _/_ _ ], [tblName].[fldName]) AS [fldName], ...