Question Unanswered: first row from a table...

Hi...I am new at this...I just have this new issue at work and thinking how to get this issue resolved....i have got a table B linked to another table A, where I want the 1st row of table B to be returned only...
    i have got the following query...

Code:
    SELECT     A.SERIES, A.ORMSTRNM, A.JRNENTRY, A.TRXDATE, A.ORDOCNUM, A.ACTINDX, 

GL00100.ACTNUMBR_1, GL00100.ACTNUMBR_2, GL00100.ACTNUMBR_3, A.DEBITAMT, A.CRDTAMNT, A.DSCRIPTN, 

A.REFRENCE, A.ORMSTRID, RM00101.STMTNAME, POP30310.PONUMBER, POP10100.POPCONTNUM, B.PACONTNUMBER, 

B.LNITMSEQ

FROM         A INNER JOIN

GL00100 ON A.ACTINDX = GL00100.ACTINDX LEFT OUTER JOIN

B ON A.ORDOCNUM = B.PADocnumber20 LEFT OUTER JOIN

POP30310 INNER JOIN

POP10100 ON POP30310.PONUMBER = POP10100.PONUMBER ON A.SEQNUMBR = POP30310.RCPTLNNM AND 

A.ORDOCNUM = POP30310.POPRCTNM LEFT OUTER JOIN

RM00101 ON A.ORMSTRID = RM00101.CUSTNMBR

WHERE     (GL00100.ACTNUMBR_3 = '41011') AND (A.TRXDATE BETWEEN CONVERT(DATETIME, '2009-07-01 00:00:00', 102) AND CONVERT(DATETIME, 

'2009-07-31 00:00:00', 102)) AND (A.ORDOCNUM = 'PRINV010871'))
    All I want is to get the first row to be considered from the table 'B'...When the link between Table A and Table B is done, I want it to work with only the first row of Table 'B', not the rest of Table 'B' rows...what can I do to achive this....need help on this at the earliest....Thanks....

note: B.PACONTNUMBER is the field from table B, for which I want the first row to be considered....

--------------

Sayed Faiz

Provided Answers: 10
    How do you define the "first" record?
    George
    Home | Blog

Provided Answers: 6
    database the order meaning no of data in the has