Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53

    Unanswered: backup with compress

    We're using DB2 9.5 on AIX. Backup started failing with sql1224 after adding the compress option. db2diag.log just shows -1224.


    EDUID : 234753 EDUNAME: db2agent (PLNDB) 0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, database utilities, sqlubPollMsg, probe:154
    MESSAGE : SQL1224N The database manager is not able to accept new
    requests, has terminated all requests in progress, or has terminated your
    particular request due to an error or a force interrupt.
    DATA #1 : SQLCA, PD_DB2_TYPE_SQLCA, 136 bytes
    sqlcaid : SQLCA sqlcabc: 136 sqlcode: -1224 sqlerrml: 0
    sqlerrmc:
    sqlerrp : sqlubPol
    sqlerrd : (1) 0x00000000 (2) 0x00000000 (3) 0x00000000
    (4) 0x00000000 (5) 0x00000000 (6) 0x00000000
    sqlwarn : (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6)
    (7) (8) (9) (10) (11)
    sqlstate:


    Has anyone encountered this problem before?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    has instance crashed - more info should be available in diag log
    does backup without compress terminates ok ?
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    post the command that you ran
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1
    Hi

    I have a very similar case over solaris 10 with db2 v9.5 fix 3b
    some notes???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    backup command:
    db2 backup db plndb online to $bkup_dir compress


    Instance doesn't crash and we don't use the force command.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    To add: backup completes successfully without compress. db2diag.log just shows -1224.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    508
    Provided Answers: 1
    db2aix, what Edition of DB2 are you using (Express-C, Express, WorkGroup, Enterprise)? If it is Express-C, I don't believe backup compress is allowed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I suspect there should be other messages in db2diag.log prior to SQL1224N. I would check the the compression library (libdb2compr or whatever it is on AIX): can it be found? is it executable by the instance owner? does it have the right bitness?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    This is ESE. Backup executes for ~30 min and then terminates with -1224. No other errors is the db2diag.log prior to -1224. backup with compress for another database on the same server completes fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Is there any particular reason why you choose to dole out information in little bits? Reminds me of the hangman game. OK, my move: what is the backup destination?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    Sorry Nick. backup is going to disk. I don't know what information is important or not so don't know what to include. Successful backup is going to the same file system.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Code:
         ______
         |/   |
         |   (_)
         |      
         |      
         |      
         |
      ___|___
    Try increasing DIAGLEVEL to 4 and see if there is more information in the log file. You could also use db2pd to verify if there is any progress in the 30 minutes of the backup, or if it just sits there at 0% waiting for something.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Check if you have db2 governor running. It can force a connection.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    db2gov was running and killing the backup. Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •