Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    85

    Unanswered: Copy and Past disabled when access windo hiden

    Good morning, I have the Access window hidden, to do so the form I use has it's Popup set to yes and this seems to disable the copy and past function, i.e when you right click the mouse the menu dose not appear that give's you the option to cut, copy and past (I need to copy text from text boxes). Dose any one know if it is possible to get the copy past function back with out setting the popup to no. Thank's

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    258
    Why not just use the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V for copy and paste, respectively?

    Ax

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    85
    I can use the key board and will but people are complaining they want to use the mouse.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Use custom menus. It's not that hard to do. Give them cut, copy and paste!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    85
    Thank's StarTrekker

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    You're welcome

    If you get stuck, ask more questions!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    85
    Here is a solution to hiding the access window and retaining the short cuts menu, the code below came from M.S website, it sizes the access window and potions it on your screen to your choosing.

    Chose your form and set it so:
    Popup yes
    modal yes
    Start up display form- Chose your form
    On load event call the function below like: Call AccessMoveSize(m, n, x, y)

    There are four numbers to set m,n,x,y
    m potions the access window horizontally, n potions the access window vertically and x and y size the access window. To hide the window set x=o and y=0
    so
    Call AccessMoveSize(0 ,0 ,0 ,0 )
    Minimizes the Access window and places it in the upper left hand corner of the monitor and leaves the short cuts menu in tact.


    Code:
    Option Compare Database
    Option Explicit
    
    Declare Function apiGetActiveWindow Lib "user32" Alias "GetActiveWindow" () As Long
    Declare Function apiGetParent Lib "user32" Alias "GetParent" (ByVal hWnd As Long) As Long
    
    Declare Function apiMoveWindow Lib "user32" Alias "MoveWindow" _
             (ByVal hWnd As Long, ByVal x As Long, ByVal y As Long, ByVal _
             nWidth As Long, ByVal nHeight As Long, ByVal bRepaint As Long) _
             As Long
    
    Function AccessMoveSize(iX As Integer, iY As Integer, iWidth As _
             Integer, iHeight As Integer)
        apiMoveWindow GetAccesshWnd(), iX, iY, iWidth, iHeight, True
    End Function
    
    
                
    Function GetAccesshWnd()
        Dim hWnd As Long
        Dim hWndAccess As Long
    
        ' Get the handle to the currently active window.
        hWnd = apiGetActiveWindow()
        hWndAccess = hWnd
    
        ' Find the top window (which has no parent window).
        While hWnd <> 0
            hWndAccess = hWnd
            hWnd = apiGetParent(hWnd)
        Wend
    
        GetAccesshWnd = hWndAccess
    
    End

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •