Unanswered: primary key and import with insert_update

DB2 v9.5/AIX 6.1
    I always thought that PKs are needed for referencial integrity/constraint only. I am new in this company and I find we are using import with insert_update option which updates existing records in the table with matching PKs. I was told we are using PKs only for this purpose.

Is there any other way to do same task like import...insert_update without creating/using PKs on the table? Thanks
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

Commands manual says

INSERT_UPDATE
    Adds rows of imported data to the target table, or updates existing rows (of the target table) with matching primary keys.

Looks like the import is looking for a primary key (or maybe an unique key) to match imported records to existing records. I don't think it will work without the keys.
    mota

Quote Originally Posted by dbamota
    Commands manual says

INSERT_UPDATE
    Adds rows of imported data to the target table, or updates existing rows (of the target table) with matching primary keys.

Looks like the import is looking for a primary key (or maybe an unique key) to match imported records to existing records. I don't think it will work without the keys.
    So this is the question: do I have to have primary keys for this or it's enough to have unique index on these cols?

Thank you
    DB2 9.5/9.7 on Unix/AIX 6.1/Linux

Quote Originally Posted by MarkhamDBA
    do I have to have primary keys for this or it's enough to have unique index on these cols?
    Thank you
    Technically spoken DB2 can do without a Primary Key definition. Personally I do not accept tables without a PK definition.
    Unique key - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia