Unanswered: UBound: Type mismatch in VBA function

Hi,

I am a newbie when it comes to writing VBA macros in Excel, so I will most likely get the jargon wrong. I have hit a dead end in searching for an explanation to an odd problem that I am having determining the size of array passed from Excel 2007 into my VBA function (macro). I will demonstrate with two examples.

Case 1 -------------------
    An Excel cell has the following formula: =myFunction(A1:A6)

The macro is as follows:

Function myFunction(myArray As Variant)

Debug.Print IsArray(myArray)
    myFunction = UBound(myArray, 1)

End Function

The Debug.Print statement outputs True, confirmning that myFunction is receiving an array. Yet the Excel cell evaluates to #VALUE! because of a type mismatch at the UBound assignment.

From what I have read the above should work. Contrast this with the following variation.

Case 2 -------------------
    An Excel cell has the following formula: =myFunction1(A1:A6)

The macro is as follows:

Function myFunction1(myArray As Variant)

Temp = myArray

Debug.Print IsArray(Temp)
    myFunction1 = UBound(Temp, 1)

End Function

This works.
    -------------------

I don't understand what Temp = myArray does. Does it transfer a pointer? More importantly, why does it make the funciton work?

This is driving me nuts! Please. Help.

Cheers,

Sebulba1

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by sebulba1
    Hi,

I am a newbie when it comes to writing VBA macros in Excel, so I will most likely get the jargon wrong. I have hit a dead end in searching for an explanation to an odd problem that I am having determining the size of array passed from Excel 2007 into my VBA function (macro). I will demonstrate with two examples.

Case 1 -------------------
    An Excel cell has the following formula: =myFunction(A1:A6)

The macro is as follows:

Function myFunction(myArray As Variant)

Debug.Print IsArray(myArray)
    myFunction = UBound(myArray, 1)

End Function