Thread: database design

database design

Hi all,

I'm new to databases, but I'm designing a rather complicated database for the stocks of instruments for my CCA, band.

Could you guys kindly help me out and give me opinions on whether this design is feasible?

Instrument Types
    - (PK)Instrument type ID

Instruments
    - (PK)Instrument ID
    - (FK)Instrument type ID
    - (FK)User ID
    - Serial Number (unique but cannot be primary key)
    - Brand
    - Model Number
    - Date of purchase
    - Condition
    o Last stock check date
    o Stock check remarks
    o Last maintenance date
    o Maintenance remarks
    o Overall condition (radio button - Everything OK, Still usable, Needs repair)

Users
    - (PK)User ID
    - (FK)Instrument ID

Suppliers
    - (PK)Supplier ID
    - Address

Instrument Orders (Instruments-Suppliers relational table)
    - (FK)Instrument ID
    - (FK)Supplier ID
    - (FK)Date of purchase [display based on the entry with the corresponding Instrument ID]
    - (FK)Serial Number [display based on the entry with the corresponding Instrument ID]
    - (FK)Brand [display based on the entry with the corresponding Instrument ID]
    - (FK)Model Number [display based on the entry with the corresponding Instrument ID]

Many instruments can exist for one instrument type, but only one user can use an instrument at any one time (and vice versa). Also, different brands/models of instruments can be supplied from different suppliers.

So.. is this design feasible? And what free database solution should I use that would allow many users to maintain the database and yet support this design?

Thanks in advance.

It looks reasonable to me. Instrument Types could use a description column unless your ID *is* the description. I personally would take the user ID out of instrument and the instrument ID out of user and put the two into a Usage table. It will make mistakes less likely.

I disagree - there's a lot of work to go yet.