Unanswered: Date audit trail

When changing a date in a subform I need to save the old date every time its changed to form an audit trail. Help plz.

Provided Answers: 14
    Here is a solution:
    Code:
    Private Sub AnyDate_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)

Dim strSQL As String

strSQL = "INSERT INTO Tbl_AuditTrail (AnyDate) VALUES (#" & Me.AnyDate.Value & "#)"
        CurrentDb.Execute strSQL, dbSeeChanges

End Sub
    Have a nice day!

Thanks Sinndho, I'm a novice with code I know I have to substitute (anydate) with the field name but I also need these dates with the corresponding Prop_code primary key. Also I have code already in the beforeupdate can I run two beforeupdate codes?

Jim

Indeed - just storing a series of dates is not going to be much use to you;

Here is a link to a downloadable example of a 'History Log' from Dev Ashish' 'The Access Web'.

This will enable you to store the corresponding Prop_code primary key and also machine name / network name / username etc.

Modules: Maintain a history of changes

If you have any difficulty implementing this, post a reply to this thread.
    Last edited by garethdart; 09-14-09 at 07:06.
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

Garethdart, Sorry I should have provided more specific info, its not the date that something is changed I want to keep it is an actual date input in a form that relates to when a gas boiler is serviced. I need an audit trail of previous service dates to demonstrate it has never been greater than one year between gas services. As you rightly say a list of dates is no good, they must be saved in a table against the individual property code field (each house's primary key code).

That module will enable you to keep track of all database changes.