Unanswered: Transactions and Locking

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to transactions and mysql. I'm fairly experienced with mysql itself though. The version I'm using is 5.0.45. My current project has to do with managing live inventory. I've done this successfully, and easilly, in MSSQL. So my first attempt was as follows:

Start Transaction
    Look up existing quantity
    If enough remains, decrement appropriate amount
    commit transaction

I didn't work, when running simultaneous updates I over allocate the available quantity, if timed right.

In MSSQL it is easy to test, start the transaction and don't commit it. Then run another query accessing the same record and it hangs until you issue a commit on the other session. Trying the same thing in mysql results in the first query updating the record and the second query being able to access the record fine. What is puzzling is I never commit the transaction in the first session. I read about setting autocommit=0 and that doesn't seem to work.

I'm guessing I have to do something with the transaction isolation level. I thought I had it with READ COMMITED but I did not. So my goal is, using the example above, is to have two sessions running the same queries. The first session should run fine. The second session should wait on the select statement until the first session is done. It then will execute the select statement, see there is not enough quantity and not go forward with the update.

Hopefully this make sense. Can anyone tell me the steps or commands I'm supposed to use to get this behavior?

Thanks
    GG
    Code:
    On Error Goto Hell

Hell:
        Msgbox("An error occurred, but was sent to Hell. You may continue.")

Why do you need transactions to do this? Couldn't you just do something like:
    Code:
    $sql = "update your_table
            where item = $item
                  and qty >= $amt";

mysql_query( $sql );

if ( mysql_affected_rows() != 1 ) {
        echo "not enough";
    } else {