Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

What method should I use for creating foreign keys?

Hi, I'm not very good at SQL and I would appreciate it if someone could explain why many of the tutorials I've come across seems to be using different approaches for creating foreign keys, is there one way that could be considered to be the "best" or are they all solutions for differentsituations? In the examples below are the most prevailing ways of creating foreign keys that I've seen (I've even seen all three used at the same time in the same schema...) Which method would you use and why?

Example 1:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE Customers (
       id INTEGER NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
    );

CREATE TABLE Orders (
       customer_id INTEGER NOT NULL,
       FOREIGN KEY (customer_id) REFERENCES Customers(id)
    );
    Example 2:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE Customers (
    );

CREATE TABLE Orders (
    );

ALTER TABLE Orders
    ADD FOREIGN KEY (customer_id) REFERENCES Customers(id);
    Example 3:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE Customers (
    );

CREATE TABLE Orders (
    );

ALTER TABLE Orders
    ADD CONSTRAINT customer_fk FOREIGN KEY (customer_id) REFERENCES Customers(id);

In the first two the end result is the same. It's just a matter of style. Foreign keys are often put in separate scripts to CREATE TABLE statements, especially in source control or where automated deployments are required.

Example 3 is certainly better practice however because the constraint is explicitly named whereas in the first two examples it isn't. Always name your constraints otherwise it makes them harder to modify and maintain later on.

Quote Originally Posted by dportas
    In the first two the end result is the same. It's just a matter of style. Foreign keys are often put in separate scripts to CREATE TABLE statements, especially in source control or where automated deployments are required.