Thread: Help!

Red face Unanswered: Help!

Hello All,

I'm trying to create a shell scrip that will search through user directory and find any files the execed 5mb and then prints information about the file (user, size and location). I do know I will need to use the "find -size" and the ">" command in the script. I have very little knowledge of shell scripting and any help would be much appreciated.

Thank for your time!

Provided Answers: 1
    find / -size +5000000c -exec ls -l {} >filelist
    or if you want in blocks
    find / -size +10000 -exec ls -l {} >filelist

Thanks kitamna.

What the difference between size in bytes and block? Also what doe the "{}" expresion do?

Thanks for the help.

Aside from the fact that / isn't exactly a user directory, that -exec is missing the trailing semicolon, and you have to escape those curlies on popular shells like bash. And -exec will run a subshell and the program for *every* file. That gets slooooow.

This may be all you need:

Code:
    find ~ -size +5M -ls
    That will list out all 5 megabyte files under your home directory. But if you want the information that the actual ls command provides (or stat), I 'd recommend piping find to xargs. This is a great technique:

Code:
    find ~ -size +5M -print | xargs ls -l
    To explain: the -print option prints out each path found on a separate line. xargs will then grab a batch of lines and pass them to the program listed as arguments. So you're executing your program 1/1000th as many times as if you had used -exec.

It is possible that a path can contain the newline character. While this is very rare in practice, if you're concerned, you can do this instead:

Code:
    find ~ -size +5M -print0 | xargs -0 stat -x
    Now rather than separating each path with a newline character, a null is used, and xargs will split on nulls. Aside from that, it works exactly the same. This is the preferred way because it's bulletproof.

Thanks sco08y,