Lafayette, LA

Unanswered: Inventory database design question(s)

Hello All,

I am in the planning phase for a database to control inventory. I am currently reading 2 books on DBM. "Concepts of Database Management"(textbook) and "An introduction to Database Systems" Date. I am new to DBMA but I think I am grasping the logic. Okay I hope that is enough background let's get to the question.

I am trying decide on how I should setup my inventory. The problem I am having is my inventory seems different than most. I want to be able to print a Delivery Ticket and it adjust the inventory accordingly.

I have New Inventory, Reconditioned Inventory, TO BE reconditioned Inventory, and Customer Inventory. If I sell an item to a customer, I usually trade in something of theirs from their inventory to my to be reconditioned inventory and give them a credit on it. Where it gets even more difficult is the way items are charged for.

We purchase blank stock from a third party, a pipe. We then have it threaded with a certain thread size and then install equipment to it.
    Each pipe can be a different material(metal or composites), a different size, different threads, different coating(internal or external painting).

So with this information would I am trying to decide how to treat each part in the database.

Should I have fields for each section of the part Size, Thread1, Thread2, Material, coating, billing code, location, price;

Should I use the standard table data:

Pipe (Partnum, Desc, OnHand, etc.)

I want to reiterate that when we first inventory the equipment it is blank, no options. We put threads on it, coat it, etc and each part adds cost to the total equipment.

Although it would be nice to get a solution handed to me on a platter, I am looking to learn. So if you don't want to just give me an answer at least ask questions that you think will lead me to my answer. I hope that makes sense.

Arizona, USA