Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Problem with Database Design

Hi!

I am a student and I am working on database that concerns customer-order-product relationship. When designing it I encountered an issue that I do not really know how to solve it in the way it seems reasonable and obeys Normalization process. I would appreciate for any assistance.

Description of my problem:
    We have product for instance T-shirt that can have different sizes and colors and each of this specific combination has quantity (http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8871/products.jpg)
    Next I created relation between Orders and Products as many-to-many (http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/8...derdetails.jpg). And here problems starts… In Order_Details table if someone order 5x of T-shirt with size S and color blue, and then 3x of the same T-shirt but with M size I will have repeated some values. Another thing is that Size and Color attributes rely only only on ProductFK Key and not the whole Key (OrderFK-ProductFK) so I moved these details to another table like here(http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/350...derdetails.jpg), but now arise another problem Quantity attribute… in my it should be placed in Order_Details, right ? The thing is now I ended up with basically the same table like Product_Size_Color (http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8871/products.jpg) but without Quantity attribute which we do not need here since I assume it should be in Order_Details table. How I can combine it altogether to get consistent database ?

Whole database until now looks like this (http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/8...ledatabase.jpg )
    If there is anything else that in Your opinion is bad please let me know.
    Last edited by kkris1983; 10-03-09 at 17:00.

Provided Answers: 4
    This ... ny (http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/8...erdetails.jpg). An .. and this ... e(http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/350...erdetails.jpg), b ... link give a "404, not found" error.