Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Unanswered: Urgent help needed

    All,

    I have a FE/BE design in production. Last week the FE blew up on one of MS, memory collision errors.

    Since then all my forms on the FE are coming up in either POPup or Modal mode. It is causing all the users to hang and not be able to run the processing.

    I was able to clear this once, but clicking Yes on both these properties, then saving, then clicking No and saving again on my main Form.

    Then we had a power outage and the FE got corrupted again and now I can not get these to run in normal mode. I tried the saves above and even did it on each individual form.

    I have started a new db, 3 times and imported, trying to fix this but nothing is working. Need to recover from this ASAP.

    Help desperately needed!

    Thanks!

    DBS4M

    PS

    Oh yes, when I do the save routine on the main form in the development mode, the problem clears, but "compact and repair" or "save and exit" the DB has the problem when it re-opens.

    D
    Last edited by dbsupport4me; 09-28-09 at 13:36.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kingsland, Georgia
    Posts
    231
    Worst case scenario, if importing the forms is still problematic, just create a new form, copy all the controls from the problem form, and paste them into the new one. Copy code behind the old and paste to new. A little more tweaking for Form header colors or whateer you may have, then delete the old form, and it should work. BTW, you should think about keeping a working backup of the FE on the network someplace, if this is happeneing routinely. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Will Try

    J,

    We do have a backup copy, but after the drop out, it also was behaving the same way. Of course we tried rebooting the computers to clear the memory stack, but nothing worked. I even ran "compress and repair" on the BE, but that did not help either.

    Will try your new form rebuild and see if that clears it.

    Thanks!

    DBS4M

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Did not work

    J,

    Tried the new form with copy of all controls, but did not work, still in same operational mode.

    I also read this was related to MS Active X erroring, so unloaded my reference to Active X, but no change.

    I also recall that several of our machines give error messages indicating an open OLE or DDE stream. I have not invoked either, unless DAO is calling one of them.

    Still looking for a solution as we can not work today.

    DBS4M

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Clarification

    All,

    One the FE each machine has it's own copy of the FE.

    Tried the new form with copy of all controls, but did not work, still in same operational mode.

    I also read this was related to MS Active X erroring, so unloaded my reference to Active X, but no change.

    I also recall that several of our machines give error messages indicating an open OLE or DDE stream. I have not invoked either, unless DAO is calling one of them.

    I read somewhere that conversion might help so converted the DB to 2000 format and then back. Nothing changed but I did notice about 15 forms I deleted previously, kept giving me "non-existant or misspelled" errors, so somehow think all this is related to that, as gone should mean gone.

    Still looking for a solution as we have not worked for 2 + days.

    Really desperate!

    DBS4M

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Quote Originally Posted by dbsupport4me
    All,

    I have a FE/BE design in production. Last week the FE blew up on one of MS, memory collision errors.

    Since then all my forms on the FE are coming up in either POPup or Modal mode. It is causing all the users to hang and not be able to run the processing.

    I was able to clear this once, but clicking Yes on both these properties, then saving, then clicking No and saving again on my main Form.

    Then we had a power outage and the FE got corrupted again and now I can not get these to run in normal mode. I tried the saves above and even did it on each individual form.

    I have started a new db, 3 times and imported, trying to fix this but nothing is working. Need to recover from this ASAP.

    Help desperately needed!

    Thanks!

    DBS4M

    PS

    Oh yes, when I do the save routine on the main form in the development mode, the problem clears, but "compact and repair" or "save and exit" the DB has the problem when it re-opens.

    D
    I usually prefer to have my main form a popup (and modal). I use a background form (maximized) which opens first and then loads the popup/modal main form. This essentially prevents users from accessing any of the top menus (except on the print screen.) Thus, user's can only close out of the application via my exit button. I then control the flow of other popup/modal forms.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Why don't you just restore from your most recent backup?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I also read this was related to MS Active X erroring, so unloaded my reference to Active X, but no change.

    - to get rid of an ActiveX control, you need to delete any reference to it found under the References and any code related to it in any modules/forms.

    I also recall that several of our machines give error messages indicating an open OLE or DDE stream. I have not invoked either, unless DAO is calling one of them.

    - Not sure without seeing the error.

    I read somewhere that conversion might help so converted the DB to 2000 format and then back. Nothing changed but I did notice about 15 forms I deleted previously, kept giving me "non-existant or misspelled" errors, so somehow think all this is related to that, as gone should mean gone.

    - make sure to debug->compile immediately after converting. Changing code before doing this tends to mess things up for that form and others related.

    I would:
    1. Create a brand new mdb file.
    2. Import all the objects into it (ie. tables, queries, forms, modules, reports) Import from the best compatible mdb you can find with the latest code.
    3. Immediately debug->compile the code.
    4. Add the Startup form back into the startup section (but I'd consider my bottom comments in the previous post.)
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Temp Solution

    All,

    I kept going back through my backups until I found where I no longer lock up and found it was when we implemented a splash login screen that things went south.

    I disabled this for now, but have done this many times without this result, so now my question is why?

    Any suggestions?

    DBS4M

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Maintenace Issue

    All,

    I posted my thread about the DB locking up:

    http://www.dbforums.com/microsoft-ac...lp-needed.html

    This has now left me with a hanging open session in the BE file, which says it is my DEV machine, but soft and hard reboots have not cleared it.

    I need to run weekly maintenace, with "Compact & Repair" but am denied, because it say the BE is locked.

    I know there is a way to FORCE off the BE file, but can not find it in the MICKEY soft HOWTOs, so need some help on finding that.

    I tried to delete the .ldb file for the BE but get the "file in use". I also tried changing from shared to exclusive for the db, but nothing is working.

    Thanks!

    DBS4M

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Merged .
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    In the computer with the BE, go to My Computer - Manage - System Tools - Open Files and disconnect those with your BE open. Or reboot it ^^
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Irving, TX (Dallas, Fort Worth)
    Posts
    379

    Nice but no Dice

    S,

    Nice but no Dice

    The BE file is on the System Server and I have no access to it at the Admin level.

    Anything I do will have to be at the DB level only, which is the only level I have Admin rights.

    This is why I'm trying to get this customer onto a MySQL BE, and maintenance, DB changes, and all these types of issues can be done seamlessly in MySQL Admin.

    If I can not delete the .ldb or .mdb file, then this will not work and neither will delete, as they are locked.

    I may have to schedule a server re-start, or .ldb file delete, over a week-end with the Sys-Admin.

    Thanks!

    DBS4M
    Last edited by dbsupport4me; 10-07-09 at 17:44.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Question. Who DOES have admin rights to the server? Someone must. Ask them to terminate the connections to the BE file.

    If not, you're screwed imo. If you have no admin right to the server to see who has files open with options of closing them, and you can't reboot it... I'd be saying "see you when you have access to the server ".
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •