Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Designing a dB, looking for any insight

Hello everyone,

I am still learning database design principles and methodologies.
    I am also currently learning Oracle 10g and PL/SQL (don't hold it against me MSSS users )

Anyhow, I have started to design a database to be used as a back-end to a user friendly application. Here is what I have so far, please let me know what I am doing horribly wrong or maybe even right.

Corporate Inventory database for a company that does a lot of field service work with local parts, but would sometimes require parts to be shipped from other locs. All part transfers will be initialized by a loc to loc phone call, if the authorized user at the requested loc confirms they have the part and can spare it, they will then perform the Transfer transaction. The transfer transaction consists of the Manager inputting the partNo to be transferred, the current location (curLoc), and the destination location (newLoc).

DB would track inventory for all offices throughout company, it would be an internal system and application. Here are the different types of users who will be using the application. It will use a front end with user forms which will allow the current user to perform tasks they are privileged to do, based on their roleType.

Basic users can only VIEW inventory and other information for each office.

Mid-level users can ALTER item totals at their local office that have been used with or without transfer.

Management
    users can ALTER item totals, UPDATE/DELETE/INSERT users, add new itemNo to inventory, remove old itemNo from inventory.

Executive users can do all of the above, as well ALTER prices, ALTER manID, DELETE manID, INSERT manID.

Entity tables:
    Part (partNo(PK), partName, partDescr, partCat(FK), partPrice, totalQty)

PartCategory (partCat(PK), catDescr)

PartQty (partNo(PFK), locID(FK), totalQty, locQty)