Unanswered: SQL update double datatype

i had the following sql:

Code:
     Cost = Cost + Convert.ToDouble(dsPODetails.Tables(0).Rows(0).Item("Cost").ToString())
                        Qty1 = Qty1 + Convert.ToDouble(dsPODetails.Tables(0).Rows(0).Item("Qty").ToString())
                        sql = "UPDATE Trn_BranchReportTop SET Total += " + Cost + ",Qty = Qty + Qty1  WHERE SellerID='" + Session.Item("UserCompanyID") + "' AND BranchGLN='" + BranchGLN + "'"
                        objDB.ExecuteNonQuery(sql)
    I would like to update the Total = Total + Cost,how can I modify my sql in order to perform the addition?

your error is here --

UPDATE Trn_BranchReportTop SET Total += ...

SQL does not have this strange operator

try this --

UPDATE Trn_BranchReportTop SET Total = Total + ...
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Hi,

I will begin a new project soon using SQL Server 2005. I have limited experience w/ 2005 compared to 2000 but I am comfortable with SQL. My challenge here is the client has about 50 million customer records. I have not seen the data yet. It is on an Oracle server with only query rights. I believe I will have to migrate this data into a SQL Server 2005 environment which I have confirmed they have ownership of. I plan to do so in order to have full admin rights, ie to be a real programmer, being able to build objects and massage the data as needed to report upon. I have never worked with this large of a dataset and my questions revolve around optimization. I have been reading up and I understand that I will index everything that is a foreign key, that is straightforward enough but what are the other major and obvious steps that are most effective to make querying this data more efficient? I am considering using indexed views as well. This data will be a lead list for multiple sales people. Any thoughts/questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.