Unanswered: Compare records in 2 tables

In my regression test, I need to do a record-by-record comparision of 2 tables from 2 databases on 2 different servers (These 2 tables are actually the same table, just 2 different versions, old and new)

I'm thinking of using a SQL script to do this in the following steps:

(1) Connect to the servers and open up the 2 tables

(2) Read and compare the 2 tables record-by-record. All the while, some how capture the records that are not in sync as I go along.

I'm new with SQL script and really appreciate any tip you can give on how to go about doing this. Thank you for your help.

Try these, tell us what these don't tell you.
    In table 1, not in table 2
    Code:
    SELECT * FROM tab1 EXCEPT SELECT * FROM tab2
    In table 2, not in table 1
    Code:
    SELECT * FROM tab2 EXCEPT SELECT * FROM tab1
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Just realised - these are on different servers. Do you know how (and are able) to link servers, and also about four part naming?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump

Provided Answers: 54
    As Pootle Flump pointed out, you really need a linked server if you want SQL to compare these databases on different servers. A Primary Key or at least a Unique Index would also help a lot. If you can do these two things (Linked Server, and Primary Key), then a FULL OUTER JOIN can solve most of your problems.

If you can't use the FULL OUTER JOIN for some reason, I'd probably export the two tables to text files, then compare those files. BCP will help you export your data, as will DTS or SSIS. There are a number of compare utilities, but I like UltraCompare (and all of the IDM tools) a lot.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Thank you for your responses, Pootle Flump and Pat Phelan.

I think I can use your suggestions regarding the Linked Server.