Unanswered: Where do I start with Optimization?

Hi,

I will begin a new project soon using SQL Server 2005. I have limited experience w/ 2005 compared to 2000 but I am comfortable with SQL. My challenge here is the client has about 50 million customer records. I have not seen the data yet. It is on an Oracle server with only query rights. I believe I will have to migrate this data into a SQL Server 2005 environment which I have confirmed they have ownership of. I plan to do so in order to have full admin rights, ie to be a real programmer, being able to build objects and massage the data as needed to report upon. I have never worked with this large of a dataset and my questions revolve around optimization. I have been reading up and I understand that I will index everything that is a foreign key, that is straightforward enough but what are the other major and obvious steps that are most effective to make querying this data more efficient? I am considering using indexed views as well. This data will be a lead list for multiple sales people. Any thoughts/questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

DD

Performance tuning is a big subject. Indexing the FK is a good start, but how to index them? Do you include all FKs (per table) in one index or one for each? Then there are SELECT queries you have to consider. And don't forget each index has to be maintained every time you do an insert/update/delete. It's always good to remember that an index is just another type of table.

Big tip use "Database engine tuning advisor"
    And I would recommend buying a book on the subject.
    -----------------------------------
    Free SQL server monitoring for DBA's
    SQL DBA manager by BlueThames.com

Indexing all foreign keys indiscriminately is incorrect. Where did you get that information?
    Quote Originally Posted by OxfordSmarty
    Do you include all FKs (per table) in one index or one for each?
    That is, I'm afraid, nonsense.