Question Unanswered: Query uses index 98% of the time

Hi experts! Riddle me this.....

My system is very, very small. It only has 17 tables and about 20 users.

I have a query that gets executed many times throughout the day. 98% of the time the query uses an index that I created to specifically make the query more efficient. The other 2% of the time the query uses a tablescan. The SQL is always executed dynamically.

My developer recently added FOR FETCH ONLY WITH UR to the query.

My system is such that it would be quite possible for one user to be updating a particular row while a different user is viewing that same row.

My suspicion is that because we are doing a dirty read with this query, if another user happens to be updating that row at the same time, the optimizer says "Hey, I need to update the index as well, so I'm not going to read the table using the index."

I'm new at this DBA stuff. Do you think that my suspicion is correct?
    Last edited by Sheerah; 10-20-09 at 17:42.

I would doubt that. If the query has literals in the predicate (WHERE clause) DB2 can check the value against the statistics to estimate how many of that value exist in the database and adjust the access plan accordingly. If you don't want DB2 to do that, then get rid of the distribution stats for the columns for the table that are stored in the catalog (and don't ask for distribution stats when you do runstats).

However, there is good chance that when DB2 is doing a table scan, that is the most efficient access path for that query (assuming you have accurate stats).
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Hi Marcus. I do have literals in the WHERE clause and my stats should be accurate.

I don't know what "distribution stats" are. My RUNSTATS looks like this:

RUNSTATS TABLESPACE LIST PRDLIST3
    TABLE (ALL)
    INDEX (ALL)
    SHRLEVEL CHANGE
    REPORT YES
    UPDATE ALL