Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: Database placed in a state by user, prevents it from being opened or locked?

    I have a form which links to a database sitting on my network. 4-5 people access the form and can do so all at the same time.

    Today one user had it open but wasnt using it for a couple of hours.

    When a 2nd user tried to open it he got the following message -

    'The database has been placed in a state by the user 'Admin' on machine '#######' that prevents it from being opened or locked'

    I got the first user to close and reopen the form which removed the problem for the 2nd user.

    I assume this was caused by the 1st user leaving the form open but not actually using it? Has it locked itself due to it being inactive for so long?

    If someone could please explain to me what has actually happened and if there is any way to stop it from happening again it would be much appreiciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14
    Check the Default record locking option for each user (Tools --> Options --> Advanced tab).
    Have a nice day!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    And look for what?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Depends on the version of Access you're using.

    There's a default for opening databases in Shared mode or Exclusive mode, you need to make sure everyone is opening the db in Shared mode.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    I checked the settings of the user who had to close the form down to let the others got on and it is set to Shared.

    Could the person who received the message have it set to Exclusive?

    Cant check because he isnt here yet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Even if you open in Shared mode, if the first user makes a modification, it can result in the lockup situation you are describing.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    But the users are not making any changes to the form, they are just using it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •