Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: Installation problem..Please help me..

    Hello everyone,

    I'm trying to install Oracle 11g Enterprise edition but i'm getting oracle home path for spaces error before installation and when i verify this when the installation comes to about %80 i am getting an error again and it's about oracle net configuration assistant..

    What should i do?

    Please help me..

    Thank you very mch..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Read The Fine Manual; Installation Guide found at
    http://tahiti.oracle.com
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks anacedent..

    Can we install Oracle 11g on windows xp?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by dbbjk
    Can we install Oracle 11g on windows xp?
    It depends.

    V10 was certified on XP Pro & not certified on Home edition

    The certification matrix can be found at http://metalink.oracle.com
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adsızo.JPG 
Views:	19 
Size:	70.9 KB 
ID:	10141

    Here is the first error window..About this error can the installation want Sun Solaris or Linux?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    I rarely do Windoze & have never seen this error, but it appears to be easily solved.
    Make sure no directory which is included in $ORACLE_HOME contains a space character.
    Replace space characters with underscore ("_") so simply eliminate any & all space characters.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    I appriciate you for your help anacedent Yeap,i think i installed 11g but in the database configuration assistant i got a warning..When i said that OK then setup said installation succesfully completed..But I didn't understand what this error means..You can see the warning window in the following picture;

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adsızo2.JPG 
Views:	14 
Size:	42.8 KB 
ID:	10146

    Thanks for your help again

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    262
    Give me the log entry ....

    as shown in your 2nd pic .. follow the path .. open the log file and post it here .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    262
    also ... run the database assistent again .. and this time .. create the template only ... not database .

    and give me the init.ora file details here.. ( open it at wordpad ) .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    Log file is that..But i couldnt understand what you said in your second post..There is no create templates there(or i'm wrong i cant see) there is manage templates..Also where is the init.ora file?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Looks like it died setting up EM

    Oct 22, 2009 1:06:05 PM oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig perform
    SEVERE: Error starting Database Control
    Refer to the log file at D:\app\BekirBerk\cfgtoollogs\dbca\orcl\emConfig.lo g for more details.
    Oct 22, 2009 1:06:05 PM oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig perform
    CONFIG: Stack Trace:


    emConfig.log may hold more clues
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    Then what should i do?Which operating system do you use Oracle on?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by dbbjk
    Then what should i do?Which operating system do you use Oracle on?
    uname -a
    Linux bcm-laptop 2.6.28-15-generic #52-Ubuntu SMP Wed Sep 9 10:49:34 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

    Ubuntu is not (officially) supported, but I know enough to work around the problems.

    CENTOS is a clone of supported Red Hat & some/many/most folks can get Oracle running on CentOS.

    I suspect if you formatted your disk, installed XP & then actually followed the Windows Installation Guide, Oracle would work for you.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    12
    What's uname-a?Ok then,which system should i use?Which one do you suggest,advice me to use oracle?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    262
    i have been running 11g on winxp , win2003 , linux, unix .. it works same for all .
    what you do is to run the database assistent and when it ask for the step to CONFIGURE ENTERPRISE MANAGER ( check box) . uncheck it . ( it is on step 4)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •