Thread: Find records

Red face Unanswered: Find records

I wish to get the records filtered/highlighted based on user's input.

For example, user input following:

A B C D

5.0 3.0 6.9 12.0

Similarly I have a master table where records appearing as :-

PartNo. A B C D

D-1991 6.0-8.0 2.2-3.0 7.4-9.0 11.0-12.0
    A-252 5.0-9.0 5.4-9.0 3.2-8.0 5.4-7.0

Is their any Macro or program to search all the records within the range, based on user input.

For any clarication, please revert back.

Thanking you in anticipation of positive reply.

Thanks

Sanjay Mathur

Hi Sanjay,

It is doable with some VBA code, but I think it would be better if your master table was laid out differently. Rather than having the acceptable spread listed in a single cell as text, it would be better to use two cells which show the minimum and maximum. So, for example, the master table looking like this instead:
    Code:
    PartNo.	A_Min	A_Max	B_Min	B_Max	C_Min	C_Max	D_Min	D_Max
    D-1991	6	8	2.2	3	7.4	9	11	12
    A-252	5	9	5.4	9	3.2	8	5.4	7
    This way you have actual numbers representing the limits. With this set up you can then use or automate the advanced filter to extract the PartNos which meet the criteria - note that the user input would still be the same (just four entries). I would also expect this set-up to be easier to maintain. With your current layout, you would not be able to automate the advanced filter so you would have to build a custom procedure to do it which seems to be more work than is necessary.

Hope that helps...

Thanks for your advice & accordingly, I have changed Master data.

I have used Advance Filter to extract data but in this case (With Min. & Max.) I am unable to extract data.

Could you show me illustration to achieve this goal?

Thanks in advance

Sure, I've attached an example to show you the general idea.

Note that columns G-->N on the Query sheet are hidden (unhide them to see the advanced filter criteria).

Hope that helps...