Thread: How to start?

How to start?

Hello all. This topic is to introduce myself and also request help, which is the reason i registered here. And i dont know where to post it exactly, and description says i should post here in that case so..

The only experience i have with database was at high school, we did a few projects with microsoft access 2003, and after that, just administrating rights through phpmyadmin when installing CMS system on a apache server. And thats about it... So im a newbie yeah.

Now, i have a project starting that is gonna require DBs. Im making a website for the old Dreamcast platform, i assume it does at least sound to you. In which im planning on making a game catalog, where ill put the game name, cover, description, release date, and more data.. And put all that on a website.

Now.. I need to decide what tools should i use. Like i said im only familiar with M$ Access, but i know using that would require a M$ sql server, something id rather avoid if theres easier alternatives. I tried giving a shot a MySql and the Navicat interface. But theres ONE thing(so far...) i cant get to work: there was that lookup function in access which was really efficient. That function was able to query data from other tables. In this case i would need for instance, i was thinking of making a table with the region codes, and developpers studios. I believe(by guessing) thats the "foreign key" function in Navicat, but i cant get it to work.. I fill the cells with the info i want and it says theres a syntax error..

And second step, like i said, im planning to release that upon a website. I suppose the best way for that is php? Now could someone tell me the basics for that?

So the goal of this topic is to troubleshoot me with those issues, but also if you could enlight me with other options? Like i said im a noob at this, so i dont know all the options.

Thanks in advance.